top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Jackson

What is Keyscape Productions?

In this article, I will discuss what exactly is Keyscape Productions and why I decided to create this business.



Today I wanted to tell you about my educational business and explain why I decided to go into helping people learn software and photography topics that I enjoy. I like to coach others and lead them to the right direction with what they are working on as sort of a resource hub. Let me explain further by telling you about some of the reasons on the foundations of my business.


Teaching and Art...

I was a fan of school except when it came to any sort of presentation (Now I do not mind it so much.) My favorite courses growing up were Math, P.E. (Physical education), and Art. I also liked reading. I highly like science, but never got good grades in it. Looking back, I enjoyed all my classes. I tried to find something relevant in my studies to use it in the future. Art was so fun. I liked painting and pottery a lot as a kid. I remember watching Bob Ross paint (who doesn't, right) on PBS.


I always had very interesting teachers. They helped me decide to go into teaching, but I never wanted to teach because my grades were not up to the standards. I taught at my college for one semester during the 2012-2013 academic year. I got into it during my grad school education. it was great, the circumstances for teaching that first semester were not...


The photography instructor had to leave for a family emergency and I was asked to teach his introductory and advanced courses. I knew the students from helping them when I worked as a photo lab assistant.

That made the transition easier. I loved the experience and hope to help others. The next semester, I helped students learn how to use computer programs. The experience was interesting. I overall enjoyed learning how others learn as well as assisting them with their questions.

"Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all" -Aristotle

Using My Degree

One of the worst timings in my life occurred right after graduation. I had to wait almost two years before I got to use my degree. I spent a lot of time in school. Almost as much as a doctor in the medical field. I went to community college all the way to graduate school and passed. I have a masters and bachelors in instructional design with an emphasis in multimedia and web development. I also hold an associates of science in business administration. It was hard because I am not the type to do a lot of research unless I am super interested in it. For that reason alone, I do not want my education to go to waste.

After college, I worked several jobs that were not for-filling, but helpful. I made some great friends outside of school like you do. Most of the jobs I held were just to get by and make some money to sustain myself. On the side, I did some quick gigs as well as take several online courses to keep my skills up. I used SkillShare, Udemy and Lynda.com courses. I still use them to this day.


Currently, I do work as a photographer at a company in Iowa. It is a nice place to work. I figure that why not create my learning platform and educate the public as I learn. I decided to go ahead and create my business on the side and teach my lovely students some fantastic stuff.


Keyscape Productions

"Finding opportunity is a matter of believing it's there." -Barbara Corcoran

With all the brief personal backstory out of the way, I will get to the business portion. Keyscape Productions is a homage to a company that was established back in 1892 called The Keystone View Company. (Check out the wiki entry here.) They made educational media and tools for a device called the Stereoscope. These were sold to schools along with film strips that students used to view photographs. The company also created these for the military as a means of training. Think of them as a pre-transparency projector or better yet, viewfinders.



By Joaquim Alves Gaspar - Self-photographed
Pocket stereoscope with original test image. Used by military to examine stereoscopic pairs of aerial photographs.

I figured that since I love photography and all things visual within a learning pedagogy, I decided to create Keyscape productions. I also added some other things I enjoy such as multimedia productions since they go hand in hand. I also enjoyed tutoring other students while in college and the year of teaching I did. I wanted to contribute the only way I knew how so I created this e-learning blog.

With that said...


Let's Start Learning!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page